top of page
Luxor Balloon Ride - Egypt

Luxor Touristeninformation

valley of the kings
Hatshepsut Temple
colossi of memnon
karnak temple
luxor temple
Valley of the Kings Luxor

Tal der Könige

Das Tal der Könige liegt am Westufer des Nils im Herzen der thebanischen Nekropole. Es besteht aus zwei Tälern, dem Osttal (wo sich die meisten Königsgräber befinden) und dem Westtal. Die Pharaonen nahmen einen Verbergungsplan an ihre Gräber in den westlichen Hügeln hinter Dayr al-Baḥrī, aus Angst um die Sicherheit ihrer reichen Bestattungen. Dieses isolierte Tal, das von der pyramidenförmigen Bergspitze Al Qurn dominiert wird, hat 63 prächtige Königsgräber. Es ist die wichtigste Grabstätte der wichtigsten königlichen Persönlichkeiten des ägyptischen Neuen Königreichs sowie einer Reihe privilegierter Adliger. Der erste Pharao, der im Tal der Könige begraben wurde, war Thutmosis I. In den nächsten 500 Jahren wurden viele weitere Pharaonen dort begraben, darunter viele der Ramses (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, IX, X ), Hatschepsut, Amenophis I. und Tutanchamun. Die Königsgräber sind mit Szenen aus der ägyptischen Mythologie geschmückt und geben Hinweise auf den Glauben und die Bestattungsrituale der damaligen Zeit. Der Plan der Gräber variiert erheblich, besteht aber im Wesentlichen aus einem absteigenden Korridor, der von tiefen Schächte unterbrochen wird, um Räuber abzuwehren, und von Säulenkammern oder Vestibülen. Am äußersten Ende des Korridors befindet sich eine Grabkammer mit einem steinernen Sarkophag, in den die königliche Mumie gelegt wurde, und Lagerkammern, um die herum Möbel und Ausrüstung für den Gebrauch des Königs in der nächsten Welt gestapelt wurden. Die Wände waren in vielen Fällen mit skulpturalen und gemalten Szenen bedeckt, die den toten König in Gegenwart von Gottheiten, insbesondere den Göttern der Unterwelt, darstellten, die ihm auf seiner Reise helfen sollten. 

TEMPLE OF HATSHEPHUT

Tempel der Hatschepsut

Hatschepsut, eine Tochter von König Thutmosis I., wurde Königin von Ägypten, als sie im Alter von etwa 12 Jahren ihren Halbbruder Thutmosis II. heiratete. Nach seinem Tod begann sie, als Regentin für ihren Stiefsohn, den Säugling Thutmosis III mit der vollen Macht eines Pharaos, wurde um 1473 v. Chr. Mitherrscherin von Ägypten. Sie war eine der größten Königinnen und die zweite, die das alte Ägypten regierte. Hatschepsut war die fünfte Pharaonin der achtzehnten Dynastie des alten Ägypten, die Daten ihrer Regierungszeit werden von Historikern diskutiert, aber es wird angenommen, dass sie Ägypten 22 Jahre lang von 1470 bis 1458 v.

Ihre Blutlinie war tadellos, da sie die Tochter, Schwester und Ehefrau eines Königs war. Ihr Religionsverständnis erlaubte ihr, sich als Gottesgemahlin des Amen zu etablieren.

Als Pharao baute Hatschepsut den ägyptischen Handel aus und beaufsichtigte ehrgeizige Bauprojekte, insbesondere den Tempel von Deir el-Bahri im Westen von Theben, wo sie begraben werden sollte. Hatschepsut, die (auf ihren eigenen Befehl hin) in vielen zeitgenössischen Bildern und Skulpturen als Mann dargestellt wurde, blieb Gelehrten bis ins 19. Jahrhundert weitgehend unbekannt. Dieser wirtschaftliche Erfolg führte dazu, dass sie als so erfolgreiche Herrscherin galt. Die berühmteste dieser Handelsbeziehungen bestand mit dem Land Punt (von Historikern in Zentralafrika platziert), eine Errungenschaft, die in den Reliefs ihres Totentempels am Westufer des Nils in Luxor verewigt ist.  

COLOSSEI OF MEMNON LUXOR

Kolosse von Memnon

Die Kolosse von Memnon  sind zwei massive Steinstatuen des Pharaos

Amenhotep III, der in Egypt  regierte. Sie befinden sich westlich der Stadt Luxor und blicken nach Osten auf den Nil. Die Zwillingsstatuen zeigen Amenhotep III  in sitzender Position, seine Hände ruhen auf seinen Knien und sein Blick ist nach Osten zum Fluss gerichtet. Neben seinen Beinen sind zwei kleinere Figuren in den vorderen Thron geschnitzt: Dies sind seine Frau Tiye und seine Mutter Mutemwiya. Die Seitenwände zeigen den Nilgott Hapy. Die Figuren sind 18 Meter hoch und wiegen jeweils 720 Tonnen; beide aus einzelnen Sandsteinblöcken geschnitzt. Beide Statuen sind ziemlich beschädigt, wobei die Merkmale über der Taille praktisch nicht erkennbar sind.

Diese prächtigen Kolosse standen am östlichen Eingang des Grabtempels von Amenophis III, dem größten am Westufer. Der Tempelkomplex war der größte und opulenteste in Ägypten, cauf insgesamt 35 Hektar. Eine Steinplatte, die sich jetzt ebenfalls im Ägyptischen Museum befindet, beschreibt, dass der Tempel aus „weißem Sandstein, durchgehend mit Gold, einem mit Silber bedeckten Boden und mit Elektron bedeckten Türen“ gebaut wurde. Bisher wurde kein Gold oder Silber gefunden. Ägyptologen graben derzeit den Tempel aus und ihre Funde sind hinter den Kolosse zu sehen.

Karnak Temple Luxor

Karnak-Tempel

Der Karnak-Komplex gibt dem nahe gelegenen und teilweise umgebenen modernen Dorf El-Karnak seinen Namen, 2,5 Kilometer (1,6 Meilen) nördlich von Luxor. Der Hauptunterschied zwischen Karnak und den meisten anderen Tempeln und Stätten in Ägypten ist die Zeitspanne, in der es entwickelt wurde. Karnak ist in drei Verbindungen unterteilt: das Revier von Amun, das Revier von Mut und das Revier von Montu; Für die meisten Besucher ist jedoch der größte davon, der Bezirk von Amun, genug. Ungefähr dreißig Pharaonen haben zu den Gebäuden beigetragen, die es ermöglichten, eine Größe, Komplexität und Vielfalt zu erreichen, die anderswo nicht zu finden ist. Der Bezirk von Amun enthält alle berühmtesten Teile des Karnak-Komplexes, und die Größe und Anzahl der Merkmale sind überwältigend (5.000 m2) mit 134 massiven Säulen, die in 16 Reihen angeordnet sind. 122 dieser Säulen sind 10 Meter hoch, die anderen 12 sind 21 Meter hoch und haben einen Durchmesser von über drei Metern. Die Architrave auf diesen Säulen wiegen schätzungsweise 70 Tonnen. Wie alle wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Ägypten hat Karnak eine Ton- und Lichtshow, die in mehreren verschiedenen Sprachen angeboten wird. 

Medinet Habu Luxor

Medinet Habu

 Königin Hatschepsut und Thutmosis III. erbauten den Medinet-Habu-Tempel; Ramses III. wählte später den Ort als seinen Gedenktempel und schloss den ursprünglichen Tempel in seinen Komplex ein. Auf seinem Höhepunkt enthielt Medinet Habu Tempel, Lagerräume, Werkstätten, Verwaltungsgebäude, einen königlichen Palast und Unterkünfte für Priester und Beamte. Der Tempel enthält mehr als 7.000 m2 verzierte Wandreliefs. Seine Mauern sind relativ gut erhalten und er ist von einer massiven Lehmziegelanlage umgeben. Der Haupttempel ist der große Gedenktempel von Ramses III., der am besten erhaltene aller Totentempel das einzigartige syrische Tor, ein großes zweistöckiges Gebäude, das einer syrischen Festung nachempfunden ist, links vom ersten Hof befinden sich die Überreste des Pharaonenpalastes; Die drei hinteren Räume waren für den königlichen Harem bestimmt. Auf dem Gelände der gesamten Tempelanlage befinden sich jedoch zahlreiche weitere Bauwerke, da sind die Gedenkkapellen der Göttlichen Anbeterinnen des Amun. Weniger gut erhalten ist der Gedenktempel von König Horemhab, den er von seinem Vorgänger Ay an sich gerissen hat und der auf der Nordseite der Einfriedung von Ramses III steht. Im Osten befinden sich eine Reihe von Grabkapellen, die für hohe Beamte des späteren neuen Königreichs errichtet wurden. 

LUXOR TEMPLE LUXOR

Luxor-Tempel

Im Gegensatz zu den anderen Tempeln in Theben ist der Luxor-Tempel keinem Kultgott oder einer vergötterten Version des Königs im Tod gewidmet. stattdessen ist der Luxor-Tempel der Verjüngung des Königtums gewidmet; Möglicherweise wurden dort viele der Könige Ägyptens tatsächlich oder konzeptionell gekrönt. Auf der Rückseite des Tempels befinden sich Kapellen, die von Amenhotep III aus der 18. Dynastie und von Alexander erbaut wurden. Andere Teile des Tempels wurden von Tutanchamun und Ramses II. erbaut. Dieser riesige Tempelkomplex war das Zentrum des antiken Glaubens, als sich die Macht in Theben (dem heutigen Luxor) konzentrierte, und seine Bedeutung spiegelt sich in seiner enormen Größe wider. Neben seiner religiösen Bedeutung diente es auch als Schatzkammer, Verwaltungszentrum und Palast für die Pharaonen des Neuen Reiches. Im 14. Jahrhundert wurde in einem der Innenhöfe eine Moschee für den örtlichen Scheich (heiligen Mann) Abu Al Haggag gebaut. Der Tempel ist weniger komplex als Karnak. Vor dem Tempel beginnt die Allee der Sphinxe, die bis zu den Tempeln von Karnak 3 km nördlich verläuft und jetzt fast vollständig ausgegraben ist. Der massive 24 m hohe erste Pylon wurde von Ramses II errichtet und mit Reliefs seiner militärischen Heldentaten geschmückt. Der Pylon war ursprünglich mit sechs kolossalen Statuen von Ramses II konfrontiert, vier sitzende und zwei stehende, aber nur zwei der sitzenden Figuren und eine stehende bleiben. Dahinter liegt der Große Hof von Ramses II., umgeben von einer doppelten Säulenreihe mit Kapitellen aus Lotusknospen. An der südlichen (hinteren) Wand befindet sich eine Prozession von 17 Söhnen von Ramses II mit ihren Namen und Titeln. In der nordwestlichen Ecke des Hofes befindet sich der früher von Hatschepsut erbaute Schrein mit drei Barken. Jenseits des Hofes befindet sich die ältere, prächtige Kolonnade von Amenhotep III, 

VALLEY OF THE NOBLES LUXOR

Tal der Adligen

Am Westufer von Luxor, das sich über eine riesige Fläche zwischen dem Ramesseum und dem Tempel der Hatschepsut erstreckt, befindet sich die thebanische Nekropole, nämlich die Gräber der Adligen. Hier befinden sich zahlreiche Gräber mit  Grabstätten einiger der mächtigsten Höflinge und Menschen  der antiken Stadt. Das Tal der Adligen umfasst fast 500 Gräber, während die Königsgräber in einem abgelegenen Tal versteckt waren, wurden die Gräber der Adligen in den Berg mit Blick auf den Nil gegraben, da sie nicht einmal einen Bruchteil davon enthalten hätten königlicher Schatz Die Gräber reichen von Beamten, Generälen, Adligen, wohlhabenden und elitären Menschen mit größeren Gräbern.  Derzeit ist es erlaubt, etwa 15 Gräber zu besuchen, und wird normalerweise auf Gruppenbesuchsbasis angeboten. Nicht die gesamte Stätte und das gesamte Gebiet sind zugänglich, es enthält jedoch Gräber wie Sennofer, der zu dieser Zeit Bürgermeister von Theben war (der alte Name für die heutige Stadt Luxor). Dieses Grab hat einige schöne Originalgemälde von Ernteszenen und Weinreben. Ein sehr großartiges Grabmal, das Teil dieses lohnenswerten Besuchs ist, ist das Grab des edlen Ramose, das einen Einblick in das Leben zu dieser Zeit unter der Herrschaft von Echnaton bietet, einem der frühesten Herrscher, der dem monotheistischen Glauben folgte. In der Zeit des Neuen Reiches . Valley of the Nobles waren sehr bescheiden und nicht groß oder extravagant wie die Gräber der Könige. Die Gräber hatten Inschriften der Grabbesitzer, von denen einige ein kurzes Gebet hielten. Jedes der Gräber konnte die ganze Lebensgeschichte seiner Bewohner durch die wundervollen Dekorationen an den Grabwänden vermitteln, die jedes Detail ihres Lebens darstellen.

Carter House Luxor

Carter-Haus

1922 machte Howard Carter Schlagzeilen, als er das Grab des Tutanchamun entdeckte und die Welt der Ägyptologie erschütterte. Carters Haus, das 2009 als Museum wiedereröffnet wurde, zeigt Werkzeuge, die der Archäologe bei Ausgrabungen verwendete, und eine Sammlung von Fotografien seiner laufenden Arbeiten. Obwohl sein Haus nach seiner Abreise aus Ägypten im Jahr 1939 viele Jahrzehnte dem Verfall preisgegeben war, restaurierte die ägyptische Regierung es schließlich vollständig und öffnete es anschließend für öffentliche Führungen. Der Besuch des Museums schafft eine Wertschätzung für Carters Lebenswerk und seine Liebe zu allen ägyptischen Dingen. Besucher des Howard Carter House dürfen die vielen Gegenstände sehen, die Carter einst in seinem täglichen Leben benutzte, während er in Ägypten arbeitete und lebte. Sehen Sie sich das Fotolabor an, das er zusammen mit seinen Kameras und anderer Fotoausrüstung benutzt hat. Sein ursprünglicher Schreibtisch befindet sich ebenfalls noch im Haus, ebenso wie die von ihm geführte Bibliothek. Die interessantesten Dinge sind jedoch Gegenstände, die sich auf die Ausgrabung des Grabes von König Tutanchamun beziehen, die ausgestellt sind. Carter lebte dort weiter, nachdem das Grab freigelegt worden war, und katalogisierte den Inhalt in seinem Büro und Labor auf dem Gelände akribisch.

Er war ein relativ wohlhabender Engländer, der sein ganzes Leben in England verbracht hatte. Als er nach Ägypten zog, hätte er auf viele Annehmlichkeiten verzichten müssen, die in England ohne weiteres verfügbar gewesen wären. Zu sehen sind der Ofen, den er einst benutzte und der im Freien von Hand belüftet werden musste, sowie sein manueller Plattenspieler und viele andere Geräte, die mangels Strom von Hand bedient werden mussten. Ein Besuch im Museum beinhaltet auch eine 20-minütige Erzählung, die dank der Technologie von Carter selbst gegeben wird. Danach können die Besucher durch die Räume wandern und alle Sehenswürdigkeiten in sich aufnehmen.

Luxor Museum

Luxor-Museum

Das Luxor Museum wurde 1975 eingeweiht. Es ist ein zweistöckiges Gebäude, das stolz auf die Qualität seiner Stücke, die übersichtliche Art und Weise, wie sie ausgestellt sind, und die klare mehrsprachige Beschriftung ist. Das moderne Gebäude ist äußerst geräumig und bietet viel Platz, um sich zu bewegen und wunderschön ausgestellte Objekte und Skulpturen in einer ruhigen, schwach beleuchteten Umgebung zu betrachten. Viele der freistehenden Granitstatuen stellen Könige, Königinnen und hochrangige Beamte dar, die ihre Bilder in den thebanischen Tempeln hinterlassen haben Pharao Tutanchamun und eine Sammlung von 26 Statuen des Neuen Königreichs, die 1989 im nahe gelegenen Luxor-Tempel begraben gefunden wurden. Tutanchamun ist durch einige der Objekte aus seinem Grab im Tal der Könige, die derzeit nicht in Kairo ausgestellt sind, gut vertreten Museum. Darunter ist der berühmte majestätische Kopf einer Kuhgöttin aus Harz und vergoldetem Holz, eines der ersten Gegenstände, die der Besucher beim Betreten des Museums sieht. Es gibt Exponate mit Opfertischen, Grabmöbeln und vielen kleinen Statuetten und Uschebtis. In Vitrinen im Zentrum des Obergeschosses befinden sich kleinere Objekte wie Schmuck, Grab- und Kultgegenstände sowie Artefakte des täglichen Lebens. Ein Hauptausstellungsstück im Obergeschoss ist eine Rekonstruktion einer der Wände des Echnaton-Tempels in Karnak. Die kleinen verzierten Sandsteinblöcke (Talatat) wurden entdeckt, als der neunte Pylon im Karnak-Tempel für Wiederaufbauarbeiten demontiert wurde, einzelne Talatat-Blöcke, auf denen die Berühmte Reliefs wurden in vielen Museen geschnitzt, aber hier ist die „Talatat-Mauer“ der einzige erfolgreiche Versuch, eine ganze Mauer aus den Blöcken zu rekonstruieren. Ein neuer Anbau des Luxor-Museums beherbergt viele Artefakte, die neu für das Museum sind, sowie einige der Kunstwerke aus den ursprünglichen Galerien. Der Hauptteil der Erweiterung hat ein militärisches Thema und ist teilweise dem glorreichen Reich Ägyptens gewidmet. Die Hauptgalerie umfasst Waffen und einen Jagdwagen von Tutanchamun. Die obere Ebene enthält einige hervorragende Statuen,   sowie viele faszinierende Objekte im Zusammenhang mit Technologie und Kunst. Zu den neuen Einrichtungen gehören ein Besucherzentrum, eine Buchhandlung und eine Cafeteria. Die königlichen Mumien zweier Pharaohs    Ahmose I. und Ramses I. wurden im März 2004 im Luxor Museum als Teil des neuen Anbaus ausgestellt Ein modernes, zweckgebautes Museum besteht aus nur einem Raum, aber der Besucher wird durch gut beleuchtete und wunderschön ausgestellte Exponate und Storyboards geführt, die den Prozess der Mumifizierung von Anfang bis Ende sowie die mit Bestattungen verbundenen religiösen Bräuche beschreiben Im alten Ägypten diente die Mumifizierung dazu, den Körper der Verstorbenen zu erhalten, damit sie im Jenseits, im Reich der Götter, leben konnten.

medinet habu
valley of the noble
carter house
luxor museum
bottom of page

Luxor Tourist Information

 
 
 
 

Valley of the Kings

The Valley of The Kings stands on the west bank of the Nile, within the heart of the Theban Necropolis its consists of two valleys, East Valley (where the majority of the royal tombs are situated) and West Valley The Pharaohs adopted a plan of concealing their tombs in the western hills behind Dayr al-Baḥrī, fearing for the safety of their rich burials. This isolated valley dominated by the pyramid-shaped mountain peak of Al Qurn has 63 magnificent royal tombs. It is the principal burial place of the major royal figures of the Egyptian New Kingdom, as well as a number of privileged nobles. The first Pharaoh to be buried in the Valley of the Kings was Tuthmosis I. Over the next 500 years many more Pharaohs were buried there including many of the Rameses (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, IX, X), Hatshepsut, Amenhotep I, and Tutankhamun. The royal tombs are decorated with scenes from Egyptian mythology and give clues as to the beliefs and funerary rituals of the period. Almost all of the tombs seem to have been opened and robbed in antiquity, but they still give an idea of the opulence and power of the Pharaohs. The plan of the tombs varies considerably but consists essentially of a descending corridor interrupted by deep shafts to baffle robbers and by pillared chambers or vestibules. At the furthest end of the corridor is a burial chamber with a stone sarcophagus in which the royal mummy was laid and store chambers around which furniture and equipment were stacked for the king’s use in the next world. The walls were in many cases covered with sculptured and painted scenes depicting the dead king in the presence of deities, especially the gods of the underworld, designed to help him on his journey. Astronomical figures decorate the ceilings of several burial chambers. 

Temple of Hatshepsut

A daughter of King Thutmose I, Hatshepsut became queen of Egypt when she married her half-brother, Thutmose II, around the age of 12. Upon his death, she began acting as regent for her stepson, the infant Thutmose III, but later took on the full powers of a Pharaoh, becoming co-ruler of Egypt around 1473 B.C. She was one of the greatest queens and the second who ruled ancient Egypt. Hatshepsut was the fifth pharaoh of the eighteenth dynasty of ancient Egypt, the dates of her reign are debated by historians, but she is thought to have ruled Egypt for 22 years from 1470 to 1458 BC.

Her rise to power was noteworthy as it required her to utilize her bloodline, education, and an understanding of religion. Her bloodline was impeccable as she was the daughter, sister, and wife of a king. Her understanding of religion allowed her to establish herself as the God’s Wife of Amen.

As Pharaoh, Hatshepsut extended Egyptian trade and oversaw ambitious building projects, most notably the Temple of Deir el-Bahri, located in western Thebes, where she would be buried. Depicted (at her own orders) as a male in many contemporary images and sculptures, Hatshepsut remained largely unknown to scholars until the 19th century. During her reign Hatshepsut was successful in re-establishing trade relationships that had been disrupted by a foreign occupation of Egypt by the Hyksos people. It is this success in economic matters that led to her being regarded as such a successful ruler. The most famous of these trading relationships was with the land of Punt (placed by historians in central Africa), an accomplishment immortalized in the reliefs of her mortuary temple on the West Bank of the Nile at Luxor.  

Colossi of Memnon

The Colossi of Memnon  are two massive stone statues of the Pharaoh

Amenhotep III, who reigned in Egypt  They are located west of the city of Luxor and face east looking toward the Nile River. The twin statues depict Amenhotep III  in a seated position, his hands resting on his knees and his gaze facing eastwards towards the river. Two shorter figures are carved into the front      throne alongside his legs: these are his wife Tiye and mother Mutemwiya. The side panels depict the Nile god Hapy.The figures rise 60 ft (18 meters) high and weigh 720 tons each; both carved from single blocks of sandstone.Both statues are quite damaged, with the features above the waist virtually unrecognizable.

These magnificent colossi, sat at the eastern entrance to the funerary temple of Amenophis III, the largest on the west bank. They were constructed as guardians for Amenhotep III's mortuary complex which once stood behind them. a massive construction built during the pharaoh's lifetime, where he was worshipped as a god-on-earth both before and after his departure from this world. In its day, this temple complex was the largest and most opulent in Egypt. Covering a total of 35 hectares.  Earthquakes, floods, and the ancient practice of using older monuments and buildings as resource material for new structures all contributed to the disappearance of this enormous complex, little of it remains today except for the two colossal statues. A stone slab, also now in the Egyptian Museum, describes the temple as being built from ‘white sandstone, with gold throughout, a floor covered with silver, and doors covered with electrum’. No gold or silver has yet been found. Egyptologists are currently excavating the temple and their discoveries can be seen behind the colossi.

Karnak Temple

Temple Complex, commonly known as Karnak comprises a vast mix of decayed temples, chapels, pylons, and other buildings in Luxor. Construction at the complex began during the reign of Senusret I in the Middle Kingdom and continued into the Ptolemaic period,

The area around Karnak was the main place of worship of the eighteenth dynasty, it was part of the monumental city of Thebes.  Karnak complex gives its name to the nearby, and partly surrounded, modern village of El-Karnak, 2.5 kilometres (1.6 miles) north of Luxor. The key difference between Karnak and most of the other temples and sites in Egypt is the length of time over which it was developed. Karnak is divided into three compounds: the precinct of Amun, the precinct of Mut, and the precinct of Montu; however, for most visitors the largest of these, the precinct of Amun, is enough. Combining the achievements of many generations of ancient builders over a period of 1500 years. Approximately thirty pharaohs contributed to the buildings, enabling it to reach a size, complexity, and diversity not seen elsewhere. The precinct of Amun contains all of the most famous sections of the Karnak complex, and the size and number of features are overwhelming.  One famous aspect of Karnak is the Hypostyle Hall an area of 50,000 sq ft (5,000 m2) with 134 massive columns arranged in 16 rows. 122 of these columns are 10 meters tall, and the other 12 are 21 meters tall with a diameter of over three meters. The architraves on top of these columns are estimated to weigh 70 tons. These architraves may have been lifted to these heights using levers. This would be an extremely time-consuming process and also would require great balance to get to such great heights. 

Like all of the major sights in Egypt, Karnak as has a sound and light show has is offered in several different languages. 

Medinet Habu

Medinet Habu is the Arabic name for the mortuary temple of Ramses III. Located on the west bank of Luxor, this temple made of sandstone is the second largest complex in the area, the first being Karnak. Queen Hatshepsut and Thutmose III built the Medinet Habu temple; Ramses III later chose the site as his memorial temple, enclosing the original temple inside his complex it. At its height, Medinet Habu contained temples, storage rooms, workshops, administrative buildings, a royal palace and accommodation for priests and officials. It was the centre of the economic life of Thebes for centuries. The temple contains more than 7,000 m2 of decorated wall reliefs. Its walls are relatively well preserved and it is surrounded by a massive mudbrick enclosure, The main temple is the great memorial temple of Ramesses III, the best preserved of all mortuary temples.  You enter the site through the unique Syrian Gate, a large two-storey building modelled after a Syrian fortress, to the left of the first court are the remains of the Pharaoh’s Palace; the three rooms at the rear were for the royal harem. On the grounds of the entire temple complex, however, are numerous other structures, there are the memorial chapels of the Divine Adoratrices of Amun. Less well preserved is the memorial temple of King Horemheb, which he usurped from his predecessor Ay, that stands on the north side of the Ramesses III enclosure. To its east are a number of tomb chapels made for high officials of the later new Kingdom. Walk the extensive ruins around the funerary temple, you will see the remains of an early Christian basilica well, a small sacred lake and, on the south side of the temple, the outline of the palace and the window, looking into the temple courtyard, where Ramses would appear.

Through the centuries, ancient Egyptians, as well as modern day local farmers considered the Medinet Habu temple to have magical powers. In Coptic times, there was a church inside the temple structure, which has since been removed. Some of the carvings in the main wall of the temple have been altered by coptic carvings.

Luxor Temple

Luxor Temple is a large Ancient Egyptian temple complex located on the east bank of the Nile River in the city today known as Luxor, constructed approximately 1400 BCE. Unlike the other temples in Thebes, Luxor temple is not dedicated to a cult god or a deified version of the king in death. instead Luxor temple is dedicated to the rejuvenation of kingship; it may have been where many of the kings of Egypt were crowned in reality or conceptually. To the rear of the temple are chapels built by Amenhotep III of the 18th Dynasty, and Alexander. Other parts of the temple were built by Tutankhamun and Ramesses II. This huge temple complex was the center of the ancient faith while power was concentrated at Thebes (modern day Luxor) and its significance is reflected in its enormous size. In addition to its religious significance, it also served as a treasury, administrative center, and palace for the New Kingdom Pharaohs.   

In the 14th century, a mosque was built in one of the interior courts for the local sheikh (holy man) Abu Al Haggag. The temple is less complex than Karnak, In front of the temple is the beginning of the Avenue of Sphinxes that runs all the way to the temples at Karnak 3km to the north, and is now almost entirely excavated.The massive 24m-high first pylon was raised by Ramses II and decorated with reliefs of his military exploits,The pylon was originally fronted by six colossal statues of Ramses II, four seated and two standing, but only two of the seated figures and one standing remain. Beyond lies the Great Court of Ramses II, surrounded by a double row of columns with lotus-bud capitals. On the south (rear) wall is a procession of 17 sons of Ramses II with their names and titles. In the northwestern corner of the court is the earlier triple-barque shrine built by Hatshepsut. Beyond the court is the older, splendid Colonnade of Amenhotep III, The walls behind the elegant open papyrus columns were decorated during the reign of the young pharaoh Tutankhamun. South of the Colonnade is the Sun Court of Amenhotep III, In 1989 workmen found a cache of 26 statues here, buried by priests in Roman times, now displayed in the Luxor Museum. Beyond lies the Hypostyle Hall.

Valley of the Nobles

Located on the West bank of Luxor, extending over a huge surface area between the Ramesseum and Hatshepsut’s temple, is the The Theban Necropolis namely the Tombs of the Nobles. Numerous tombs are located here with  burial places of some who were the most powerful courtiers and people  of the ancient City. The Valley of the Nobles site includes nearly 500 tombs, while the royal tombs were hidden away in an isolated valley, the Tombs of the Nobles were dug in the mountain overlooking the river Nile, as they wouldn’t have contained even a fraction of the royal treasure The tombs range from civil servants, Generals, Nobles,wealthy and elite people with grander tombs.  Currently, it is allowed to visit around 15 tombs and usually offered on a group visit basis. Not all of the site and area can be accessed, however, it does include such Tombs as Sennofer who at that time was the Mayor of Thebes (the Old name for the now City of Luxor). This tomb has some beautiful original paintings of harvesting scenes and grapevines. A very grand Tomb included in this worthy visit, is the tomb of the Noble Ramose which offers a glimpse of life at that time under the rule of Akhenaten, one of the earliest rulers to follow the monotheistic fait.In the period of the New Kingdom. Valley of the Nobles were very humble and not large or extravagant like the tombs of the Kings. The tombs had inscriptions of the tomb owners on them with some having a short prayer. Each one of the tombs was able to convey the full life story of their inhabitants through the wonderful decorations on the tomb walls depicting every detail of their lives.

Carter House

In 1922, Howard Carter made headlines when he discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun, rocking the world of Egyptology. Carter’s home, which reopened as a museum in 2009, displays tools the archaeologist used in excavations and a collection of photographs of his work in progress. Though his home was left to decay for many decades following his departure from Egypt in 1939, the Egyptian government eventually restored it completely and subsequently opened it for public tours. visiting the museum creates an appreciation regarding Carter’s life work and his love of all things Egyptian. Visitors to Howard Carter House are allowed to see the many objects that Carter once used in his daily life while he was working and living in Egypt. see the photo lab he used, along with his cameras and other photography equipment. His original desk is likewise still in the house, as is the library he kept. The most interesting things however, are items relating to the excavation of King Tutankhamen’s tomb which are on display. Carter continued to live there after the tomb was uncovered, meticulously cataloging the contents in his office and laboratory on the site.

He was a relatively wealthy Englishman who had spent his entire life in England. When he moved to Egypt, he would have had to have sacrificed many conveniences which would have been readily available in England. Visitors can see the oven he once used, that needed to be ventilated by hand outdoors also his manual record player, along with many other devices which had to be operated by hand because of no electricity. A visit to the museum also includes a 20 minute narration which, thanks to technology, is given by Carter himself. After that visitors can then wander around the rooms and take in all of the sights.

Luxor Museum

The Luxor Museum was inaugurated in 1975. It is a two-story building that prides itself on the quality of the pieces it has, the uncluttered way in which they are displayed, and the clear multilingual labeling. The modern building is extremely spacious with plenty of room to move around and view beautifully displayed objects and sculpture in peaceful low-lit surroundings. Many of the free-standing granite statues depict kings, queens, and high-status officials who left their images in the Theban temples,  among the items on display are grave goods from the tomb of the 18th dynasty pharaoh Tutankhamun and a collection of 26 New Kingdom statues that were found buried in the nearby Luxor Temple in 1989. Tutankhamun is well-represented by some of the objects from his tomb in the Valley of the Kings which are not currently on display in the Cairo Museum. Included among these is the famous majestic head of a cow goddess, of resin and gilded wood, which is one of the first items the visitor will see when entering the museum. There are exhibits of offering tables, tomb furniture, and many small statuettes and shabtis. In glass cases in the centre of the upper floor are smaller objects such as jewellery, funerary and ritual items and artefacts from daily life. A major exhibit on the upper floor is a reconstruction of one of the walls of Akhenaten's temple at Karnak .The small decorated sandstone blocks (talatat) were discovered when the ninth pylon at Karnak Temple was dismantled for reconstruction work, individual talatat blocks on which the famous reliefs were carved can be seen in many museums, but here the ‘Talatat Wall’ represents the only successful attempt at reconstructing a whole wall of the blocks. A new annex to Luxor Museum houses many artefacts new to the museum, as well as some of the artworks from the original galleries. The main section of the extension has a military theme and is partly devoted to Egypt’s glorious empire. The main gallery includes weaponry and a hunting chariot of Tutankhamun. The upper level contains some superb statues,  as well as many fascinating objects related to technology and the arts. The new facilities include a visitor centre, bookshop and cafeteria. The royal mummies of two Pharaohs    Ahmose I and Ramesses I - were also put on display in the Luxor Museum in March 2004, as part of the new annexe .The modern purpose built museum consists of only one room, but the visitor is guided around well-lit and beautifully displayed exhibits and story boards which describe the process of mummification from beginning to end, as well as the religious customs associated with burials.The purpose of mummification in ancient Egypt was to preserve the body of the deceased so that they could dwell in the afterlife, in the realm of the gods.

 
 
 
 

Contact us:

Telephone No.

Phone/Whatsapp/Viber